Nortriptyline : Meds Made Easy (MME)



NortriptylineReviews

people have reviewed this drug
4 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
4 Stars
Posted 21 months ago (2/28/2017)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for DepressionReport

At first, I hated this drug, which I'm taking for chronic migraines, but then I decided to ignore the recommendation that it be taken at night. What a rapid and major difference taking it in the mornings made! I went from a couple migraines a week to a couple a month with only minimal grogginess on the first few days. It had small beneficial effects at that dose on my vulvodynia problems, and moderate beneficial effects on my TMJ pain (the other two reasons it was prescribed). The specialist said that I would likely have to increase my dosage to 50mgs--which I am not going to do--to deal with all of the issues I'm trying to resolve. If you take it at night and find it troubles your sleep, I strongly recommend trying it in the morning before giving up on it. I am quite sensitive to medicines, so I only take 10mgs, and for the most part, that has been a sufficient dose for my migraines. Even 20mgs leaves me feeling groggy and useless. My two cents is that you shouldn't feel pressured to take high doses. Try out 10 or 20 mgs for a couple of weeks first and see if that is adequate for you. My only concern is that now after taking if for about 5 months, I randomly started having aura mi

Report
5 Stars
Posted 21 months ago (2/18/2017)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for Neuropathic PainReport

I had a severe brachael plexus injury when I tripped and shattered my shoulder. The damaged nerves in my right arm felt like my arm was on fire. After 4 months of extreme pain and no sleep my pain doctor prescribed Nortriptyline. It was a miracle. It turned off the pain switch to my brain. I still have nerve damage, but no pain. I took Nortriptyline for a year ( through 3 surgeries). I was able to get off of it without any problems. The only side effect, which was a good side effect, I did not have to urinate as frequently as I used to when I took Nortriptyline once a day.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 21 months ago (2/8/2017)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for Neuropathic PainReport

This drug has ruined my life. Initial side effects were very dry mouth. But after about ten days I experienced swelling in the ankles and decided to start tapering off. But before I could I was hit with severe tinnitus/ringing in my ears. Although I've been off the drug for four months the ringing is a horrible as ever and I can't even sleep without strong drugs. Am told it may never go away.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 22 months ago (2/1/2017)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for DepressionReport

I selected "depression" as the reason for taking Nortriptyline but this is not the case. My doctor prescribed nortriptyline for my IBS. IBS was not available as an option for selection in the survey menu. My life was almost at a standstill from severe stomach pain whenever eating. After taking Nortriptyline my symptoms completely went away. It took about a week or two for it to get in my system. Nortriptyline gave me my life back.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 25 months ago (11/3/2016)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for DepressionReport

I could not change the reason for taking box but my reason was a bunch of doctors that are under pressure due to state laws prescribing opioid meds pain. I have 8 compression fractures and one "burst fracture" due to osteoporosis accidents and falls in 1973, 83 and 93. They wanted to convert me from the meds I take now which work but I am still in pain every minute of every day since 1973 and have lost 4" in height all due to spinal compression. The med in question caused a LOT of trouble for me. Other sites have warnings for internal bleeding with this med and I found out in 94 that ANY nsaid and any drug the warns of this will cause me problems. I almost bled to death from a common med. I am sorry I do not have the bottle to tell you what thew dosage was but I had worked up to 4 caps a day all taken at bedtime which seemed strange. I had problems urinating in the first days. Then my legs started dragging and almost caused a couple falls. But two weeks into the build up and the first night I took four of them I spent 8 hours throwing up blood and then started passing blood. The 32 year old Doc swore to me it would not cause bleeding! Now, two months later, I am still passing a lit

Report
5 Stars
Posted 25 months ago (10/27/2016)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for Neuropathic PainReport

Constipation. But otherwise treated my chronic pain and I could sleep all night

Report
5 Stars
Posted 25 months ago (10/26/2016)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for DepressionReport

I had depression for 7 hard years, during which I mostly resisted taking meds for it (except for a period of time when I took Fluoxetine (Pamelor) which didn't help me at all), for I feared that it would numb me emotionally and I certainly would hate this as I'm a person who considers emotions as a greatly valuable part of the human nature. Anyway, during the last couple of months of my crippling depression, I got to a point that I would cry nearly 10 times a day, would not leave the house and above all, was in such an internal and emotional pain that I just couldn't continue resisting meds anymore So I started taking Nortriptyline (20 mg a day at first and 75 mg gradually, and let me tell you, in about a month and half, I got so much better that was unbelievable even by me. True enough, it took nearly 2 months for me to get the full effect of these, Even though it has some bothersome side effects (which are absolutly better than a crippling depression), I still think that these pills saved my life and saved me from an unbelievably awful internal and emotional melancholy and pain. Thank you Nortriptyline for giving me my life back.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 25 months ago (10/26/2016)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for Neuropathic PainReport

Started at 10mg at night and have built up to 50mg but will probably go to 75mg in next couple of months after my next hospital appointment . I have trigeminal neuralgia, occipital neuralgia, vertigo,hemiplegic migraine, constant auras that cycle non stop, pain and numbness every day plus suspected glioma in front left lobe. Since I have reached level I am taking I have less pain and side effects have lessened. Don't give up as you really do need at least three months for things to settle. I have lost a stone in weight so don't be scared by people saying that you will gain weight because that isn't always true. I am feeling more like myself but expect I will up the dose slightly as migraine auras haven't gone eventhough they are not 24/7 like they were. Studies have shown they slow glioma growth and I am waiting for scan results as I am on 'watch and wait ' so hopefully this will be the case. I am still working in a demanding job teaching special needs pupils which I could never have continued to do without this medication. Just make sure you give yourself at least three months and maybe ask for 10mg tablets as it helps if you find it is too long to wait until night and you can

Report
5 Stars
Posted 25 months ago (10/25/2016)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for Neuropathic PainReport

I was besieged with a burning pain in my fibula for months after an avulsion break in my ankle. Nothing helped until I was given a nerve block under fluoroscopy. Nortriptyline was prescribed concurrently; first at a low dose and then increased after a week. The burning pain disappeared completely after the procedure, and I have very little pain left in my fibula, tibia, talus, or ankle now. it has been over two months since the procedure, and I have been able to finally get off the crutches after 5 months. At first I was hyped up in the evening and then sleep hard after. Solid sleep and vivid dreams -- I avoided the drowsiness in the morning by splitting my dosage into am & pm. Severe dry mouth, and some GERD symptoms, so I must take with food. Not sure how much long I need to stay on it, but I feel that Nortriptyline helped eleviate the pain of the original injury that wasn't affected by the nerve block. I believe it enabled me to complete P.T. rehab and finally make progress.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 27 months ago (9/1/2016)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for Migraine ProphylaxisReport

I had a mixture of ailments including IBS, migraine, sleeplessness, and some degree of depression. My doctor had me ramp up to a level I felt sufficient, 30 mg which was effective for several years. Those years were a gift, for which I thank my doctor and Nortriptyline. Around 2012, I decided to ramp down on my own. Withdrawal symptoms were significant, but led to an unmasking of the underlying illness: Parkinson's. I still take nortrip, now at 50 mg. Life is nearly normal and previous issues are a distant memory.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 27 months ago (8/27/2016)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for Neuropathic PainReport

This is all personal experience, but they should warn you about the side effects when tapering off of this drug. I was on 50mg a day until I woke out of a dead sleep and couldn't breathe, pressure in my head, ringing in my ears, confusion, and heart palpitations. I had to call the ambulance because I felt like I was going crazy. I don't take any other drugs with this except ibprophen for the headaches caused by this medication. Then the same attack happened while I was tapering off. I am currently on a taper program to get this stuff out of my system, this drug can be dangerous! I am noticing increased anxiety, sweating, general confusion, unable to eat, diarrhea, as well as feeling detached from reality. I looked up these side effects because I thought they were all in my head, but other people have experienced the same symptoms. My experience with this medication can only be best described as walking in a living nightmare! I will NEVER EVER take any drug like this again. I have never felt so scared for my life before. I have even cut back on smoking cigarettes to see if it helps alleviate my symptoms but they haven't. It's been a week and these problems still persist. ONLY TAKE

Report
3 Stars
Posted 28 months ago (7/21/2016)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for Migraine ProphylaxisReport

Been on this medication for over a year now. It helps lower the pain of my daily migraines and symptoms that come along with it, which I am grateful for. However, while on this medication I become extremely depressed, even to the point of me not talking to loved ones and crying all day. I've tried to come off it once already but the migraine pain came back so severe that I had to go back on it. Also, I've gained about 25-30lbs within the first 6 months of taking this medication and it's been such a struggle to take it off. In conclusion: works for specified purpose but side effects are pretty dreadful for me.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 31 months ago (4/9/2016)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for Panic DisorderReport

I have been taking Nortriptyline for over 15 years. This drug was prescribed as it helps me in a number of ways. After being diagnosed with a horrific disease I began having panic attacks, insomnia, and depression. The treatment for the disease also induced peripheral neuropathy. I take 225 mg at bedtime. Nortriptyline can cause constipation. Therefore, ask your doctor to help you find the proper dose for your condition. In men, chronic constipation may cause an increase in PSA, as this was the case with me. My doctor helped me adjust the dosage to help me minimize the side effects. Nortriptyline has helped me tremendously

Report
4 Stars
Posted 33 months ago (3/3/2016)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for Neuropathic PainReport

I have Erythromelalgia-( a neural vascular condition.) I have been taking 75mg at night for sleeping. It has worked well but I'm noticing weight gain and breast enlargement.( I've been taking it for six weeks.) Wondering if it's possible to lose weight while on this med.?

Report
4 Stars
Posted 34 months ago (2/4/2016)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for Neuropathic PainReport

I have used a number of different medications for my neuropathy. Nortryptiline doesn't make me fell like my thoughts are lost in my head. Other medications made me feel stupid when taking. I would have the thought there, but it wouldn't make it to my mouth to speak. As for the pain, it helps to take some away but not completely.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 34 months ago (1/27/2016)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for DepressionReport

I had tried a number of SSRI's for depression, but did not experience notable improvement on any of them. I was then prescribed nortriptylene. This medication has changed my life. I have been taking it now for about 20 years. I started at 150 mg./day, but am now taking only 125 mg. These 20 years have been the happiest, most fulfilling, and most productive of my life. I attribute much of this improvement to nortriptylene.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 34 months ago (1/17/2016)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for Migraine ProphylaxisReport

Before starting this medication, I had headaches all day every day and I found myself pretty depressed, including thoughts of suicide and severe irritability. I noticed improvement within days of starting this medication. I only get headaches the week before my period and I am nowhere near as depressed (still down days but it's easier to come back from them). This medication has improved my life so much. I find myself more productive and generally just more normalized. I've had some moderate side effects, including postural hypotension (extremely dizzy the first few days waking up after taking this at night but I've gotten used to it) and dry mouth. I would recommend this to anyone suffering from headaches and depression.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 34 months ago (1/11/2016)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for DepressionReport

I was prescribed Pamelor to treat severe fibromyalgia. It only helped a little with my pain and did a very poor job treating my depression. The worst thing was the weight I gained. Right before starting this drug I had lost 50 pounds. I felt great! During the year that I took it, I gained 70 pounds even though I didn't change my eating! I asked my doctor about it and he said weight gain wasn't a side effect but it sure was for me. I would never recommend this drug to anyone who hasn't tried all the other options first. And to the person with the numbness, falls and clumsy hands - there are much better medications to treat anxiety! It's not a good idea to stay on a drug that causes you to fall.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 36 months ago (12/5/2015)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for DepressionReport

I've suffered from IBS for years. Started taking a minimum dose of 10mg and noticed a difference within 2 days! My IBS was literally debilitating and now I have no issues. I'm up to 20mg now and feel fantastic. I've actually went off it for a couple days and my IBS floated up again. This will most likely be something I have to take forever. My only major side effect is difficulty sleeping.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 36 months ago (11/14/2015)

RatedNortriptyline (Pamelor)for Migraine ProphylaxisReport

I've been on this medication for a little over 6 years.it absolutely helps with my migraines.in those 6 years.I have had only one dose increase.with in half an hour I get tired and I can feel the migraine going away.I pass out.then when I wake up..I have the Migraine hang over.that's when I take ibuprofen.nortriptyline has been a life saver for me

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: Advice for those prescribed Nortriptyline for Vestibular Migraines

Nortriptyline Reviews
Nortriptyline Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Nortriptyline Reviews pictures

Nortriptyline Reviews recommend
Nortriptyline Reviews advise photo

Nortriptyline Reviews photo
Nortriptyline Reviews picture

Nortriptyline Reviews Nortriptyline Reviews new foto
Nortriptyline Reviews new pics

picture Nortriptyline Reviews
picture Nortriptyline Reviews

Watch Nortriptyline Reviews video
Watch Nortriptyline Reviews video

Forum on this topic: Nortriptyline Reviews, nortriptyline-reviews/
Discussion on this topic: Nortriptyline Reviews, nortriptyline-reviews/ , nortriptyline-reviews/

Related News


Jennifer Aniston Just Made 43 Dr. Scholls Sandals Look Very Chic
Heather Hall
An Easy Asparagus Edamame Salad Recipe to Bring to SummerBBQs
Save Money on Produce This Summer
Giant Blinis with Smoked Salmon and Caviar Recipe
Never-before-seen Princess Diana outfits go on display at re-opened exhibition
Brad Smith: Paul has had immeasurable impact
Grace Kelly salió al balcón con sombrero todas estas veces, igual que Charlene
Angelina Jolie Effect Prompted More Testing for Breast Cancer Genes
8 simple ways to protect your heart
Capelli crespi no grazie, 5 rimedi (1) che salvano la tua chioma dagli effetti dellumidità
Dex4 Tropical Blast Reviews



Date: 04.12.2018, 00:06 / Views: 91473